Michelle's Artistic Corner

Celebrating Creativity – Connecting with Community! "She worketh willingly with her hands" (Proverbs 31:13)

You Are My Sunshine! February 16, 2010

Filed under: Photograpy - Pictures are worth a thousand words — Mac @ 10:37 PM

This past weekend I did a lot of baking for my Valentine. A lot of baking means spending a lot of time in the kitchen. A lot of time in the kitchen means looking out the kitchen window into the backyard, which I like to do, especially while washing the bowls and spatulas I just dirtied up with batter. As I was cleaning I looked out my kitchen window to see the sun hitting the back of one of my hanging geranium plants. The sunlight made the geranium look like it was glowing. It was one of those photo op moments, when your eyes see something that just might look great in a photo, so you drop everything you are doing, grab the camera, and run out to shoot like crazy! Keeping your fingers crossed the whole time that maybe, just maybe, you might get a picture you like. I was hoping for some sun-flare. Here’s what I got this time around.

Sun Flare! It worked! Exciting! I jumped up and down when I got this one. Not bad for a beginner. Plenty of room for improvement, but it’s a good start. Here’s another one.

Last shot this is what I saw from the kitchen window.

 

2 Responses to “You Are My Sunshine!”

  1. Great shots. Isn’t photography so much fun when you can try out different techniques AND they work!

    Can’t wait for more sunny days like the last few have been – Springs a comin’!

    • Thank you, Amy! I appreciate the support. And, yes, when photography works it is FUN, and inspires me to keep trying.

      I adore digital photography! How wonderful it is to just shoot, and shoot, and shoot, without worrying about wasting film. Not to mention I can shoot a 100 photos just to get that ONE that works and not feel badly about it, not feel like I’m wasting any materials. It’s great.


Leave a Reply

